Snowy With A Chance of Meatballs

Winter has finally arrived in Vienna and the cold drafts in my apartment have sent me scurrying to the kitchen for warmth! This time I tried my hand at an old classic – spaghetti and meatballs. I have only tried to prepare meatballs once before and the results were not overwhelmingly delicious which is why there is no evidence of the experiment here on Vienna Eat World. The recipe-that-shall-not-be-named called for too many breadcrumbs and baking the meatballs in the oven which resulted in an overly dry, mealy consistency. This recipe, however, employs a quick fry in the pan + crushed tomatoes and a short simmer to achieve a delicate, juicy meatball and a homemade sauce to boot!

Foto (2)

I mixed together approximately 1/4 cup of grated parmesan, 1/4 cup of chopped parsley, 1 clove of minced garlic, and one large egg. I then added 3/4 of a pound of ground beef and a 1/4 cup of breadcrumbs to the wet mixture. You could add a dash of salt and pepper to the works but I did not because I salt the water I cook with (now is a good time to ready the pot) and didn’t want to go overboard like I usually do. Once the meatballs have been formed (I made 10 small-ish meatballs), add them to a pan with a tablespoon of olive oil on medium heat. I let them brown on each side which took about 7 minutes, flipping them 2 to 3 times to avoid burning them. Once you have achieved a good color, add a can of crushed tomatoes to the pan and let simmer for 10 – 15 minutes. I did add a bit of salt and pepper to the sauce because otherwise it can be bland but the flavors in the meatballs really open up while cooking which contributes to a full-bodied, rich flavor. Now plate the perfectly-timed spaghetti and serve!

Foto (1)

This recipe couldn’t be simpler and it is also very budget-friendly. As I generally have eggs, olive oil, salt, pepper, parmesan, and bread crumbs on hand I only had to buy the meat, crushed tomatoes, and parsley which amounted to roughly 6 dollars and made enough to feed four (I froze the leftovers). The meal was very filling. It is hearty, savory, and delicious – the very definition of comfort food – and it is so easy to make that it would be a shame not to. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

